Be Patient

Posted: April 4, 2012 in Blog
Tags: , ,

Hey everybody, I’m back with a new image I like. The name of article perfectly fits the story how I got this photo. Let’s start from beginning. It started out simply me thinking about buying an iPad and because we have few of them in company I borrowed one of them. Installed few great apps I’ve heard about starting with Stuck on Earth by Trey Ratcliff. If you aren’t familiar with this just check websites. Thanks to his app I found a great photo, went to same spot and tried to do the same thing.

When I arrived it didn’t look as good as I wanted. The Golden Hour already started and I wasn’t getting the light I was waiting for. So I made a small walk around Hradcany. This is how it looked when I was there for the first time.

OK, my exposure is a little bit off but you get the idea. Nothing is happening, sun is setting down, I smell supper. There isn’t anything I’d press the shutter button on my camera. So I had a small walk, a good chat with nice looking waitress, a beer and I went back on location. After about an hour or so the lamp in shot turned on and sky was getting darker and darker. This is what I was waiting for. I took my tripod down, mounted camera, fixed exposure and took a shot.

With this type of look I was very happy, got contrast in colors, a bit of people moving around and not just nice ambient light but also nice light from lamp illuminating walls and stairs. I took 3 shots with -2, 0, +2 bracketing, merged them in Nik HDR Efex, some fixes were done in Photoshop. Very important was to fix colors, because HDR made them a bit funky on some spots and I got the final image.

The Magical Prague

Comments
  1. […] during Sunset Posted by Garfield on May 1, 2012 This post is a bit follow-up to my shoot at Hradčany and yesterday’s. As I said and every better photographer says, good light happens two times a […]

Leave a Reply

