Thinking About Buying a New Lens

Posted: November 22, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , ,

You might find yourself in a situation where you don’t just want to have sharper images, but also less things to do with your image in post-processing be it in Lightroom or Photoshop. What do I mean by this? Imagine you have some low-end/old lens and during a shoot your image is ruined thanks to bad optics of the lens. How does it look? Something like this.

On both sides you can see purple artifacts caused by bad optics and light passing through it. This image is a waste, because it took me a lot of time in PS to get it at least to this stage. I used saturation, color balance and other adjustments layers but it didn’t help too much. Of course, I desaturated the image a bit, but not much I could do if I wanted to keep a original texture in wood.

I found myself shooting most HDR images to focal length of 40 mm. And I need some walk around lens. I’m thinking about buying a Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM which could solve my issues. It’s a great lens and because I don’t need f/2.8 aperture, I can save 1/2 a price of 16-35 f/2.8. That is cool. With this lens I can do almost everything, how I said before, great walk around lens. All Canon’s APS-C cameras have extension coeficient 1,6x, so the lens itself will behave as a 23-64 mm. Pretty close to Canon’s 24-70. It also fits on a full-frame bodies like 5D (which I’d also like to buy) and that means I’ll have a awesome wide-angle zoom. I just hope my boss will allow me to borrow it for a few days to really test if it’s the one lens I need …

BTW you can check out a review of this lens done by DigitalRev crew right here.

Leave a Reply

