New Website Up and Running

Posted: September 17, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , , ,

So finally after a long time I was able to put together my website with a small sample of my images. I didn’t put online all my great shots I’d like to have in portfolio, but just few to be sure everything is up and running correctly. I’ll keep posting new photos into each category. By this time there are People, HDR, Landscape & Nature, Street and Misc categories. I’m sure to not add another one, because everything I shoot belongs into one of them. If it is a bit out of my typical bounds, I put it in Misc.

If you want to have your own website with photography portfolio on the Internet and don’t know how to do it, check out this book by RC Concepcion. A great start to finish tutorial, it’s simple and effective. He used WordPress, which is my favorite CMS (Content Management System) for building webs. If you don’t want to pay for your domain and hosting, you can get them free. There are of course some cons. Space is sometimes a bit more limiting, slow communication between PHP and MySQL libary, what makes it useless for WordPress etc. Anyway, you can buy online some XML Templates.

This type is fast, works on almost every server, doesn’t take up so much space and it’s easy to use. You just copy it into your root folder on server and it’s done. To set everything up you can use NotePad, Dreamweaver or different webpage editing software. Templates comes with some dummy text, if you want your own text over it, just rewrite it using one of the programs above. To add images you’ll just specify the address of image. Best way is to insert the image into an “Image” folder in your root server directory and add links in XML files. It’s pretty simple and after some time you’ll realize that hardest point is to pick your best images.

Anyway, here is my web 🙂

Leave a Reply

