Shooting Sunset Portraits

Posted: August 20, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , , ,

Few days ago I was shooting some portraits for my cousing during a beautiful sunset. Not much clouds in the sky so I had to deal with hard light right from the sun. I don’t even have a diffuser or a reflector. But I used an external flash on my camera or tripod right next to me to fill in the shadows. Main light was still the sun. When the sun is low, just like during sunrise or sunset, the light has to travel through thicker layer of atmoshpere what makes it softer and easier to use. Not saying it is perfect, but really nice challenge.

I wanted to shoot in aperture priority, but after my full manual challenge I decided it will be better for me to shoot in manual mode and so I did. With the sun in background, meter will go crazy, believe me. In manual I have full control and just focus on pictures. You set things once and that’s all. Flash was also in manual mode for better results, even when I could use E-TTL.

All portraits were shot with my Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM and I loved it! Awesome for portraits and these kind of stuff photos 🙂 I still don’t have processed all my favorites, so hang on, here is just one that I like, more will come.

Sunset Portrait

Leave a Reply

