Orton Effect – What it is and how to create it

Posted: March 26, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Forbidden Area (click to enlarge)

I don’t know why, but now I shoot a lot more HDR. Maybe it is because I can use better tools like LR3, PS CS5 or Photomatix 4, maybe just because it is cool. Two days ago I was on a walk with my friend Clara and we were passing throught graveyard. Yes, I know it is a weird place to go, but we wanted to know how we will end up 😉 But anyway, right at the entrance was this cool scene so I started thinking about it. Of course I made some portraits of her but she was so embaraced and asked me not to show them to anybody … don’t know why, because she’s one great looking sexy girl! 😀

I knew I had to shoot in HDR, because there were big differences between light levels. So I set my camera to AEB +/- 2. Now I needed to find that cool angle and feel for the image and it did take just a second. I realized I can shoot the “forbidden area” style. One element in foreground is in focus and is restrictive, the rest behind it is out of focus. The shot itself wasn’t bad. But I had to make it even better somehow. I felt it’s potential, just to process it the right way and I could get away with awesome photo. I’ve decided to go with Orton Effect. And of course, some other adjustments in Photoshop and Lightroom, as always. The final image is on the left of the post, click on it for better view, it will forward you to the photo on my Flickr account.

Here is the video about Orton Effect.

Comments
  1. […] time ago I posted an article about Orton Effect. Now I want to show you a result. In the video included with the post it was used on objects not […]

  2. .Ive seen a few people who have said that you cant replicate this effect in Lightroom because you dont have layers in Lightroom.

    • Garfield says:

      Yes, that is true. Lightroom is great for quick adjustments but when you need to use layers, Photoshop is the only way.

Leave a Reply

