Is HDR Cheating?

Posted: March 24, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Window under Bridge

This interesting answer and a big discussion about it took place in Scott Kelby‘s and Matt Kloskowski‘s new show about photography The Grid. D-Town TV is now ruled by Larry Becker and RC Concepcion.

But about the question. Is it really cheating? Someone will say yes, some will say no and the rest cannot decide. Why HRD is and what it stands for? It means High Dynamic Range. Your camera can see very limited number of light levels, about 5 EV. But human eye can see a lot more. How much? Well some say about 11 EV, but I think the range is even bigger. With camera we want to capture what we see in the scene and if dynamic range is too big, then we have to choose some part of image we will expose for. And the rest? Will be pure black or pure white, areas without details.

With HDR we can bring details back to life and see everything in the scene. For me it isn’t cheating, it is just dealing with technical issues. It isn’t my fault camera’s sensor cannot capture the whole scene. Then I have to bring it back using Photomatix or Photoshop.

You might say I’m crazy … well maybe I am. But this is just my opinion and great thing in photography is it’s subjectivity. Nothing isn’t carved in stone.

This photo was taken during morning walk in Prague with my friend. We were walking, chatting and shooting instead of writting papers 🙂

Comments
  1. mate this is a very nice blog here. I wanted to comment & say that I enjoyed reading your posts & they are all very well written out. You make blogging look easy lol I’ll attemp to start a blog later today and I hope it’s half as good as your blog! Much success to you!

  2. I just wanted to comment & say that I was very impressed with the design on your blog & also your writing skills.. happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

