Shooting shooting people 🙂

So finally after a long time I took my favorite 70-200 on trip to Prague to make some portraits and street shots. Weather was great for people shooting, sky was grey and light was very soft. How I said, great conditions. I wasn’t following any people but used another tactic. Location is very important so I picked it first and than waited for people to come into the scene.

How I said, location matters a lot. Another thing you should be interested in are your camera settings. For these portraits/street shots I didn’t have enought time to set my aperture and shutter speed manually so I used aperture priority. Actually I’m in Av mode 70 % of all shoots. My 70-200 is f/4 so not so fast as it’s bigger f/2.8 brother. And also without IS. So one of my goals was to have fast enought shutter speed to have sharp shots. This means shooting wide open at f/4, which is cool and I like the bokeh it gives me. Trouble was with ISO.

My Rebel XSi/450D has DIG!C 3 processor and their noise is just terrible. With higher ISO

Woman in Red

setting, your photo will get less sharp in comparison with lower ISO. First few minutes I was at f/4 and ISO 1600. When I reviewed the images, my shutter was 1/1600s. It was so fast I was happy for it and lowered ISO to 400. Sometimes I had to move it to ISO 800 but it is still better than ISO 1600.

The Shoot

A lot of attention is drawned by red color. When you want a person to pop-up, let them wear red stuff. Just like woman in my picture. This can help you a lot.

Another great tip is to use your style of photography. I really love shooting wide open with long glass. It gives me ability to separate the subject and make them stand out from the rest of the scene. With big apertures I can also say “this is important” or “look here”.

Sometimes I also pick a subject and then take more than one shot of them. Now I don’t mean shoot in servo mode or continuous but making different shots. Just like images of this young girl I saw sitting on a bench.

Waiting and Poping

As you can see, thanks to shallow depth of field she is crisp sharp and everything around her is blurred. That makes people mind saying “she is important”! And I wanted that. After this shot she saw me and we said hi. She didn’t have any trouble with me taking photos of her so I continued. Why should I be standing and shooting from top, I sit down on bench on the oposite site from her and continued shooting.

Here is the last shot from today’s shoot. What I like about the portrait? The girl has dark hair and background is also dark. Because I was shooting into the sun I was able to get that nice rim light. You can see it on her hair. Some people in studios use extra strobe just to get this kind of light. You can have it for free 😉

Leave a Reply

