So after some time I’m posting another post, this time with a bit interesting topic. Let’s say you are starting in photography and you would like to make a living out of it one time. So how should you get noticed? Today there are many ways how you can do that and lets start with the biggest one.

The Internet

There are many photo galleries and websites specialized in showing your work. But not just that. Many of these webs have comment sections where viewers can put comment about what they like in the shot and what they don’t like. Then it is just about you what you will take and what you won’t. It never is a bad idea to listen to comments. With this you will also create your own style of photography. Just like I did. Shooting wide open, minimal aperture at f/5.6 except some shots with landscapes, then I go to f/11 or f/16. But most of the time I’m wide open. And these sites helped me to develop my style.

But here are some sites I publish my photos on. The following list isn’t in any order 😉

The first site is Photo Extract. It is a Czech website with gallery and it also supports English. People can comment photos, rate them and tell what they like and not. There is also a graph that will show you views of your photo. It has camera and lenses databaze so when you want to buy a new lens and chech out the images you can get with it you can use it. The same with camera body. But remember, every gear is as good as the photographer. So if you suck in photography than buying a 500 f/4 will not make it better. But comments might 😉

Another cool website is Digital Photography School. In forum you can share your shots and people can put critique on your photos. This forum is great, it isn’t just about photos but also about gear. So when you want to buy something new, just like I bought my Manfrotto 190XPROB tripod, I made a post on their forum and other photographers will give you advices about it. Really cool and need stuff so be sure to check it out.

And the last but not least one is Flickr. A lot of people out there have Flickr account and it is great place to meet new people, share shots or just talk. Another fact is that some people search images in Flickr and then they contact you with permission to use your image. And that is what you want!

Facebook

A huge part of photography in modern days. It is so big that I didn’t put it into the Internet section. What to do with Facebook and who should use it? To be honest, everybody can. But as a people photographer you have a huge plus! For example I made a photo shoot some time ago with my cousins. After it I picked the best shots, run them throught the Photoshop and finally posted it on Facebook and marked the people on the photos. That means all their friends and also your friends will see those photos and I can’t calc how many times I’ve heard the phrase “will you shoot me”?

So for me these are my primary web channels that I put my photos on. You can also contact some magazines and do other stuff but that is good topic for another post.

BTW I’m not payed by any sites I’ve mentioned in the post, this is just the way I do it 😉

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    Interesting post – I had not heard of the first two sites, need to check them out.

  2. EternalForms says:

    You remind me that I need to set up Facebook and Flickr sites for my photography! WordPress is a fairly good way to get photos out there and share … I only wish they had better templates for photographers. Nevertheless, I make it a point to check out the photography tag pages every day to see the exciting and beautiful photos people around the world are capturing. I guess it’s time to join the 21st century and check out those other sites, too! ; )

  3. I do agree with all of the ideas you have presented in your post. They are really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too short for novices. Could you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

