Making Macro Shots

Posted: January 13, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So after some time I had enough time to pick up my camera again and try tripod, flash, and new wireless triggers for speedlight. To be honest this wasn’t the result I was going for … Yes, the first idea was it has to be a square shape and everything else was luck 😉

For this shot I used a plaing glass, one kiwi sliced on approximately same height slices, flashgun, tripod, camera and my ACA certificate. What!? It was great as a reflection panel and I had to use something to spread the light 🙂

The glass was laying on my left and right reproductors in about 30 cm (1 feet) height and on it I put those individual slices. Then I used the “extendable” central column of my Manfrotto 190XPROB and put the camera up above the scene. I used flash in full manual mode (because I cannot use TTL) and set it to 1/8 of power. It worked better than I expected.

Here is the final shot 😉

Shot with Canon Rebel XSi / 450D with Canon 28-70mm f/3.5-4.5 lens @52mm, 1/200s, f/8, ISO100, processed in Lightroom 3

Leave a Reply

