Extreme Conditions

Posted: December 6, 2010 in Hikes
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Some time ago a friend of mine asked me to help him with his shooting. He has Canon Rebel XS and wanted to learn more about shooting landscapes. Everything started in the local pub where he was terrified about getting up at 8 a. m. and I was terrified to get up so late! We had a couple of beers and went back home.

I woke at 7 a. m. and got ready for shooting. What I wasn’t ready for was the cold. As you might know, cameras have their range in which they will be working fine. When you will go outside this range, there might be trouble. My Canon can be used according the manual to -5 °C (23 °F). And that is quite OK. The trouble was, that it wasn’t -5°C or even -10°C but -22°C (-7,6 °F)!

The beginning of shooting was quite fine and fun. To be honest we had for the first 5 minutes the best light I’ve ever seen. There was a snow storm coming and it mixed with beautiful sun light. Really gorgeous. But I made one shot and I wasn’t able to continue shooting, my arms were freezing! That isn’t the worst part.

We stayed outside for some time and then decided to go back. I saw a nice curve of road and took my camera. I turned it on, set everything for the scene, focused and pressed the shutter button. But nothing happened. The mirror inside body got frozen! It hadn’t ever happen to my or anyone I know. But to be honest, I’m the only freak to go out and shoot in -22°C.

After some time the camera continued working and I made some shots. I really didn’t want to stay out because the camera and went back home so I got only few shots.

Here is I think the best shot from the whole “trip” and I’m looking forward to go on another hike with my camera. I just hope weather will be nicer…

This photo can be seen at my Flickr page also.

Shot was taken with Canon EOS 450D/Rebel XSi with Canon EF 28-70mm f/3.5-4.5 lens @70 mm. Settings I used were ISO: 800, f/11, 1/50s, +2/3 EV.

 

Leave a Reply

