Prague at Night

Posted: October 24, 2010 in Blog
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last Tuesday I decided to take a walk and make some shots of Prague’s Castle. I didn’t have my whole equipment with me because it couldn’t fit into my bag and I was and still am quite sad. I took only tripod and my 28-70mm lens with me. I was photographing from Palackeho’s Bridge and according to the distance and focal length I was able to get a “close-up” shot with lens zoomed all the way in and also the wide one zoomed all the way out.

But lets talk a bit about photography. I put the tripod on ground, extended all my legs, leveled it and put on my camera. Everything looked really fine. There were just few problems. I took the first shot at f/16 and 0 EV. How I thought before the shot, whole scene was brighter than it should be. This was caused by the camera itself.

As you might know, camera is looking for grey color in pictures and tries to compensate for it aka making grey really grey. If it cannot find any it will make some. If you’re shooting in dark place (room without lights or night shots), it will try to make that black or dark light a grey one. That means you have to put it back. Each other shot was made with -1EV, except the HDR, of course.

I was going for that silk water look and had to use f/8. That wasn’t the best decision, I should have gone for f/5.6. With smaller aperture, lights will have that star shape and I wanted to avoid it. Another thing is traffic like boats and cars. You can take a shot with light trails. It looks really nice.

But what pissed me off? Airplanes! When you have a 30s exposure a plane is flying thought the scene, there will be dots caused by lights of the plain. I was fortunate enough these trails were just on one shot and I didn’t need the shot at all (it was the +1EV for HDR).

This post is the same as on my other website JanJilek.ic.cz.

 

 

Leave a Reply

